Monopoly Tournament held at Cobleigh

  • Print

Monopoly 2018-02-14 at 7.49.33 PMLYNDONVILLE - A Monopoly Tournament was held at the Cobleigh Library this afternoon. The Monopoly Tournament instructor, Colleen Lariviere, started this tournament sixteen years ago as she had seen it as a great learning opportunity for children. Originally, the library had other games that they had played as well. Her children were also involved in monopoly tournaments years ago and she wanted to continue this tradition with her grandchildren as well.


Monopoly was originally created in 1933 and invented by Charles Darrow. It was later sold on February 6, 1935 by the Parker Brothers. Before Monopoly was created there were some other games similar to Monopoly but they never were as successful.  Although the trademarks on the game were officially not settled until 1985.International Monopoly tournaments were first held in the 1970's. The last national championship and world championship was held in 2009. The game is now on many different video game platforms as well including a computer version, X box 360, Wii and Playstation. 

The object of the game is to become the wealthiest player by buying, renting and selling property. The children will keep a score sheet with the amount of money they win and whoever has the most money at the end wins. Lariviere sees this as a positive game because the children are able to learn these skills that they will need when they are older as adults.

"A lot of people think it's strictly just luck , but I think it's mostly skill with some luck involved. It does depend on the luck of the die, but then you have to decide if you're going to buy something when to build or not and to pay attention to your properties of course, " said Lariviere.

Whoever is the winner at the end of the tournament, can win a Green Mountain Book Store gift card. Whoever doesn't come in first place can win a toy or candy. They also will have door prizes as well for the children.

The tournament continues on tomorrow from 2-4 and the winner will be determined then.